Jekyll Island website
Jekyll Island map
Georgia Colonial Coastal Birding Trail map
Also, see Jekyll Island
|Bar Charts by Season by Month|
Tips for birding Amphitheater Pond
The Amphitheater is located across from the historic district and down from the firehouse. There are two dirt roads leading to a parking lot which is canopied by huge old oak trees, then a little archway leads you to the Amphitheater and the pond.
From Wildlife Personalities blog
About Jekyll Island
From the early Native Americans to guests from around the world, the story of our island has been captivating the imaginations of explorers for generations.
In 1733, General James Oglethorpe named Jekyll Island in honor of Sir Joseph Jekyll, his friend and financier from England. In the late 1800s, Jekyll Island became an exclusive hunting club for families with names like Rockefeller, Morgan, Vanderbilt, Pulitzer, and Baker. The once private retreat is now part of The Jekyll Island Club National Historic Landmark District, one of the largest preservation projects in the southeast.
In 1947, the Governor and the Georgia state legislature established Jekyll Island as a State Park. Today, the island is a special sanctuary for each of us – and the Jekyll Island Authority is proud to share our island’s history.
From Jekyll Island website