Concord, Massachusetts 01742
Warners Pond brochure
|Bar Charts by Season by Month|
Warner’s Pond has been a diverse source of resources and pleasure since its origin in the mid-1800s. It was a summer recreational area that had a picnic area, playground, swimming beach, and boat rides. Swimming lessons were offered at Warner’s Pond in the 1970s. In the winter, the pond hosted ice skating parties, Christmas tree bonfires, and ice hockey games. Ice houses could be seen standing at the reformatory end of the pond where they stored the ice cut from the pond.
Warner’s Pond was earlier called Loring Pond, after David Loring who purchased the water rights in 1817 and established a lead pipe company where the Warner’s Pond Dam exists today. The pond, as it is known today, came into being in 1857 after Ralph Warner bought the Pail factory property located at the fork of Laws Brook Road and Commonwealth Avenue. He had a dam raised in the Nashoba Brook to increase the water power for the factory.
In 2008, Warner’s Pond dam was reconstructed. Warner’s Pond is now owned by the Town, except for Scout Island, which is owned by the Boy Scouts of America. Warner’s Pond is a relatively shallow 48-acre pond that is fed by a 47-square-mile watershed in seven communities. 95% of the watershed lies outside Concord. Since at least the 1980s, the pond has undergone eutrophication (a process where water bodies receiving excess nutrients experience excessive plant growth) and sediment deposition, leading to a decreased use by canoeists and fishermen, as well as diminished ecological value. Exotic, invasive species of plants dominate the pond today.
From Warners Pond brochure