This Website has moved to https//
This Website has moved to https//

Kiowa National Grassland–NM-406 Riparian Area

Birding in New Mexico

Kiowa National Grassland
NM-406 Riparian Area

Clayton, New Mexico 88415
Kiowa National Grassland webpage
Kiowa National Grassland map

Bar Charts by Season by Month
All Months
Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec Jan Feb
Spring Summer Fall Winter

eBird Hotspot

Union County

Kiowa NG–NM-406 Riparian Area
Coordinates: 36.4759471, -103.1239526
eBird links: Hotspot mapView detailsRecent visits
My eBird links: Location life listSubmit data

About Kiowa National Grassland
Within the short grass prairie of the southern Great Plains lie the Kiowa and Rita Blanca National Grasslands. These grasslands encompass approximately 230,000 acres in six counties within New Mexico, Texas, and Oklahoma. These administrative units are not solid blocks of Government-owned land; rather they consist of numerous small Government parcels, intermingled with privately owned tracts. Prior to settlement, this area was home to many American Indian tribes. The abundance of buffalo and wildlife provides strong testimony to the importance of the grass resource.

With the Homestead Act of 1862, settlers began to pour into the prairie. They were lured by the promise of a better life and cheap and productive farmland.

The settlers quickly discovered the unpredictability of the prairie life. While the grasslands were productive in wet years, they were also subject to serious drought and harsh winters. The farm price collapse in 1919-20, coupled with severe drought, the depression, and the ensuing “dust bowl”, pushed many homesteaders to the edge of survival.

In the 1930s and early 1940s, programs were initiated which allowed the Federal Government to purchase and restore damaged lands. These purchased lands were known as Land Utilization Projects and were administered by the Soil Conservation Service. By 1960, the administration of these Land Utilization Projects was transferred to the Forest Service, and they were then designated as National Grasslands.
From Kiowa National Grassland webpage